What Remains Of Your Face When You’re Gone From It

Asphyxiated moment of truth
I am like you
Why am I alive
While you
Die
Beside
Me

Farthest reaches peak
Black corners creep
Beyond comfort
Wanted
Lost

Fill the bottle
Drop the dime
Bill the model
Hide the crime

Why am I alive
I feel the same as all that has died
I am what I have tried
I am alive
But lifelessly I watch you die

I’ve never cried
Or dried the blood
I’ve never tried
But lived in mud
And when you died
I saw your eyes
And realized
I am alive

And I will die
Premature and full of lies
And you will sing
My lullaby
And no one
Will ever say
And no one
Will ever be done

And I will be gone
And everyone
Will move on

Leave a Reply

