The Degeneration of Love

IV

Cascades
Broken colours
Mirrors
In shards of light

(cliche)

Ideas
Broken glass
Lasting far past
Endless silence sight

(cliche!)

Night is roaring
At the fading light

(always the same)

III

And nothing passes
In mirrors
Cutting down horizons
To shine an endless reflection
Of itself
All over my breaking face

Arrange the colours
Mechanical lines divide
To make the spectrum shine
Through my eyes

To change my mind
Arrange the shards of glass
Refractions blasted
To hide the sun, stains, past
Trick my mind
To paint a lovely false sublime

(The blinding light is fine
They always say
But they always look away…)

II

Choking down my will to breathe
To please
I laugh at my mind

Close my eyes
To hide
From life
And living
And you

Don’t remind me
This time
Can’t fix my eyes with your lies

There’s nowhere to hide

…But there are places to fly
When you understand why

I

Spirals of oozing concrete
Form
To point the way

Endless tongues into the mouth of a monster
Sweet lullabies
To make us stay

A little longer
Always feeling, falling away
And I’m going to do it again today

…And nothing passes
In mirrors
Cutting down horizons
To shine an endless reflection
Of itself
All over my broken face

Leave a Reply

